Interference on 3rd out

If you have any rules related questions, please ask in this forum. In general, enforcement of rules is up to the Umpire of the game and iScore does not specifically enforce them, but we want to make sure we score within them. Ask here, and experts can chime in.
Post Reply
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 12:02 pm

Interference on 3rd out

Post by tdatman99 » Sat Jun 30, 2018 12:08 pm

Batted ball strikes the runner moving from 2nd to 3rd. The runner is called OUT on interference. No argument here. But this was the third out of the inning. What happens with the batter? Should he lead off the next inning? Or is the at bat over? If so, its effectively the 4th out of the inning. In our game, they ruled the next batter lead off the next inning. What is scored for the at bat of the batter who hit into the interference?
User avatar
Posts: 5458
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: Interference on 3rd out

Post by OhioTex » Sat Jun 30, 2018 1:53 pm

My instant reaction, wrong.
Batter had an official at bat
Score at bat as fielders choice.
He does not lead off next inning.
Credit fielder closest to runner with the put out

Given the basic description, I can’t understand why batter would lead off next inning. Also There is no 4th out here, Ball should be declared dead when batted ball hits runner.. for batter, No different than if he hits a ground ball that is fielded and runner tagged out (or forced out) for third out. No reason batter gets a new at bat
iScore Baseball/Softball
* Updated Manual
* Stat Formulas ... internal=1
Post Reply