iScore Baseball v4.0 submitted to Apple

We will announce new product updates here along with what features are being included in the updates
Bearcat09
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:19 pm

Re: iScore Baseball v4.0 submitted to Apple

Post by Bearcat09 » Mon Mar 04, 2013 10:44 am

I am totally stoked over the new update!!! Y'all Rock!!!
User avatar
jcbeckman
Posts: 415
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:54 pm

Re: iScore Baseball v4.0 submitted to Apple

Post by jcbeckman » Mon Mar 04, 2013 2:42 pm

Hmmm...looks like you also added quotes around a bunch of fields - kind of a significant change worth noting. I guess I need to recode my input routines.

Also, I see "Player" got changed to "Name" which is another pretty significant change.
Last edited by jcbeckman on Mon Mar 04, 2013 2:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
FTMSupport
Site Admin
Posts: 13156
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: iScore Baseball v4.0 submitted to Apple

Post by FTMSupport » Mon Mar 04, 2013 2:57 pm

For anything programmatic, we actually suggest the APIs as they will always be backward compatible. We know your situation with doing desktop scoring for MLB seasons, so it does not really fit with our Team Website API model, but an API is really the only way we can guarantee support for programmatic usage of the data.
Check out the new iScore Baseball documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
User avatar
jcbeckman
Posts: 415
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:54 pm

Re: iScore Baseball v4.0 submitted to Apple

Post by jcbeckman » Mon Mar 04, 2013 3:32 pm

That's...an odd stance. Are you saying you will *never* change the data returned via API?

If you are going to have an export file, it sure would be nice if you would not change fundamental parts of it with new releases - or at *least* document those changes, instead of making us figure them out for ourselves. Changing column names and, now I see, no longer stripping out commas, are rather significant changes someone made that should be documented. I am now in the position of having to try out every file and see what other surprises are in store - despite my repeated pleas in the forums here for you to, at a minimum, *document* any changes to the files. I doubt I'm the only one reading these files into something else.

I get that you will change the files at times. But really, changes "just because," like changing a column name, should not be done without at a *minimum* informing users (and really, why do it at all?). Changes to data formats are important to know as well.

It's very frustrating, because you guys are normally so responsive and customer oriented, to get punched in the gut like this since I have often asked you to communicate such changes in the past on the board.

Don't get me wrong - the app's new features are great, and I look forward to taking advantage of some of them. And none of these changes are terrible - it's having to guess at what they are that's frustrating.
Last edited by jcbeckman on Mon Mar 04, 2013 4:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
pboyle8
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 12:41 pm

Re: iScore Baseball v4.0 submitted to Apple

Post by pboyle8 » Mon Mar 04, 2013 3:35 pm

Absolutely fablulous update. Quick question on pitch counts, can they be applied at the player level since different aged kids have different pitch counts. Also, is there an index or listing of finger swipe or "quick actions"?
KevTN
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 3:50 pm
Location: Hixson, TN

Re: iScore Baseball v4.0 submitted to Apple

Post by KevTN » Mon Mar 04, 2013 4:53 pm

Great update!!!! I do have to say I like the updated interface on the iPad better than the Android. If y'all can (at sometime)do that to the android?..already converted about 100 games...

Congrats on a job well done....
User avatar
FTMSupport
Site Admin
Posts: 13156
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: iScore Baseball v4.0 submitted to Apple

Post by FTMSupport » Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:17 pm

@jcbeckman - We have always done what we can to keep your workflow intact (including giving you access to editing MLB players that nobody else has). There comes a time though that we have to make updates that may break one-offs (things that are being used in ways they were not intended to be used). An API call will always be backward compatible because that is one of the main reasons for creating an API - it's an agreement between client and server for the exchange of data. It is great that you have been able to use the CSV file for something other than it was intended for, and we are sorry that this major update has broken the processing you have written to handle CSV data. As far as we know, the CSV data is still valid CSV data that can be opened in spreadsheets (that was the original intent). If a field name has changed, that was not intentional. The fields that are included in the CSV are now controlled by the fields that are visible in the UI, and this gives users much more flexibility than they had before. What field name has actually changed? If you would like to email us at support@iscoresports.com, we can probably communicate better there with specifics than through the forum.

@pboyle8 - we assume you are referring to the pitch count warnings? That is set in the Options for a game, and is not stored with a player. The next time you create a game, the pitch counts will default to whatever you previously used. You can always edit them from the Options screen for the game you are scoring. There are "quick plays" available by sliding your finger up across the Out and In Play buttons as well as sliding your finger up across any base runner. The quick plays are also visible as a tab selection when pressing Out or In Play.
Check out the new iScore Baseball documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
Vic
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:26 am

Re: iScore Baseball v4.0 submitted to Apple

Post by Vic » Mon Mar 04, 2013 6:42 pm

Fantastic Update! The best just got better!

One quick question. I love the fact that you can setup custom criteria for Quality At Bats. I just can't find where to do that. I see the stats showing the Quality At Bat fields but they are all 0 since I can't find where to set what I am looking for. Is this an option that you have to setup for each game? Is there no way to setup the criteria and then have it calculate based on historical data (previous games played)?

Thanks!
- Vic
Vic
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 7:26 am

Re: iScore Baseball v4.0 submitted to Apple

Post by Vic » Mon Mar 04, 2013 7:01 pm

I think I may have found an issue in the stats reporting for batting. I thought it might be something that crept into the email exports but I went back and verified that the stats are showing the same way on the device.

The issue is in the scoring of Line Drives in the batting stats. It looks like the LDs and LDm fields are reversed. I caught it because I don't often use LDs so I didn't expect to see that field populated much. My stats show many LDs and only a few LDm. It should be the other way around.

Thanks!
- Vic
User avatar
FTMSupport
Site Admin
Posts: 13156
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: iScore Baseball v4.0 submitted to Apple

Post by FTMSupport » Mon Mar 04, 2013 9:15 pm

For Quality At Bats, from any of the stats screens, tap the "tools" icon in the bottom right, then tap the QAB 1, QAB 2, or QAB 3 selector and you can pick what criteria to use for your device for QABs. This will only apply to games going forward (or to any that you Recalc after changing the setting).

We will look into the LDm and LDs stats and get this updated for the next release --- thank you for pointing this out.
Check out the new iScore Baseball documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
Post Reply