Page 1 of 1
RBI credited on double play
Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2021 11:53 am
Scoring the Arizona State -Stanford game April 18. If I read my scorebook correctly yesterday, a batter was credited with an RBI by grounding into a double play. I’ve now checked the MLB rules. No RBI should be credited. I’ll be the first to admit that I may have misread the stats. Would appreciate feedback about either the iScore scoring or my reading skills.
Re: RBI credited on double play
Posted: Sat Jun 05, 2021 6:37 pm
Hmmmm....I'm a month an a half late from your post, but having checked the box score (https://thesundevils.com/sports/basebal ... core/28046
), it does not show Martinez with an RBI (the narrative for the play -- Martinez,V grounded into double play 2b to ss to 1b (0-0); Bowser,D out on the play; Robinson,C scored. -- does not show an RBI as well).
The corresponding NCAA Baseball scoring rule to the MLB rule is the Exception to Rule 10-9 ("Exception—It is not a run batted in if the batter grounds into a force double play or a reverse-force double play or when a fielder is charged with an error because he muffs a throw at first base that would have completed a force double play.")
Now, if there is an RBI dot on the iScore scorecard, then something needs to be looked into !?!