SAC and FC on the same play?

We will try and answer Questions in this forum. If you are having any issues with iScore Baseball, this is probably the best place to start. You can also search historical posts here.
Post Reply
SunshineHwy
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:37 am

SAC and FC on the same play?

Post by SunshineHwy » Thu Jan 02, 2014 4:01 pm

If a SAC and a Fielder's Choice occur on the same play, does the fielder's choice negate the SAC? Or vice versa? I want to score this correctly and am unclear if this counts as an at bat (yes if it's a FC, no if it's a SAC). I'm hearing both sides in my local league and am having trouble getting clarification. The more thorough the explanation, the better.

Thanks!
User avatar
FTMSupport
Site Admin
Posts: 13190
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: SAC and FC on the same play?

Post by FTMSupport » Thu Jan 02, 2014 4:52 pm

If you are talking about a bunt where a runner other than the batter is thrown out, then it is simply a FC (doesn't matter if another runner advanced)... the batter only gets a Sac Bunt if runners advance safely.

But if you include details of the situation, we are sure someone on the board can give you more details.
Check out the new iScore Baseball documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
User avatar
grstatdoc
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:24 am
Location: Grand Rapids, Mich.

Re: SAC and FC on the same play?

Post by grstatdoc » Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:21 pm

Yes, it is possible for a SAC and FC to be scored on the same play.
(a FC is scored when the defense tries to put out a runner other than the batter. Most often an out is gained, but is not a requirement)

Looking at a case:
(a) R1, 0 out. B#2 bunts, pitcher attempts to retire R1 at second, but R1 beats the throw, and B#2 reaches first.
B#2 did his job by advancing R1 with a bunt, and therefore gets credit for a sacrifice.
We as scorers would have judged that had the pitcher thrown to first, B#2 would be out (this is in contrast to the bunt being so good that the pitcher's only chance was to get R1. Since that didn't work, B#2 would get a bunt single and not a sacrifice)
Since the pitcher attempted to retire R1, B#2 reaches first on the fielder's choice. However, he does not lose his sacrifice credit (The FC describes how B#2 reaches first)
iScore will allow you to enter such plays (best to have Advanced Mode=On and Minimize Question=No)
(b) R1, 0 out. B#2 bunts, but pitcher retires R1 at second (1-6). This would be entered like a normal FC, but choosing to note it was a bunt.
There are other variations on this theme, but will stop here for now.
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 5473
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: SAC and FC on the same play?

Post by OhioTex » Sat Jan 24, 2015 8:22 pm

In iScore ..In Play> safe >sac bunt. .. What happen to runner at first? > safe >Second> advance by batter, what happen to batter ? Safe> held up
..........................................
iScore Baseball/Softball
* FAQ http://iscoresports.com//baseball/support.php
* Updated Manual http://iscoresports.com/baseball/manual.php?gd=1
* Stat Formulas http://data.iscorecentral.com/legend.ph ... internal=1
Post Reply