Substituting for Designated Hitter (future.feature.request)

We will try and answer Questions in this forum. If you are having any issues with iScore Baseball, this is probably the best place to start. You can also search historical posts here.
pcunningham
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 12:56 pm

Substituting for Designated Hitter (future.feature.request)

Postby pcunningham » Thu May 30, 2013 1:12 pm

I use iScore frequently to score MLB games, both on iPhone and iPad. My issue is that when a team pinch-hits for its Designated Hitter, and that player remains in the lineup thereafter as the DH, iScore doesn't carry the DH designation over to the substitute -- his position shows as a blank, both on the lineup and on the scorecard. Is there a way that I'm missing to score this situation properly?
User avatar
FTMSupport
Site Admin
Posts: 12974
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: Substituting for Designated Hitter

Postby FTMSupport » Sat Jun 01, 2013 8:49 am

You can go ahead and do the substitution. All statistics will be tracked correctly. Any player below the DH on the scorecard that does not have a position designation is also a DH. Once the batting lineup position for a DH has been changed to another fielding position, then a DH is no longer allowed in the game. So you will always know players below the DH are also a DH until you see something other than "-" or DH.
Check out the new iScore Baseball documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
pcunningham
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 30, 2013 12:56 pm

Re: Substituting for Designated Hitter

Postby pcunningham » Sat Jun 01, 2013 9:42 am

Ok, thanks for your help.
Joe Siegler
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:04 am

Re: Substituting for Designated Hitter

Postby Joe Siegler » Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:00 pm

I know this is an old post, and I understand your response, but this is still happening in 2017.

My OCD is annoyed at the blank. There anything that can be done to show the DH there?

https://imgur.com/gallery/rr6wC
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 5103
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: Substituting for Designated Hitter

Postby OhioTex » Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:23 pm

Nothing we can do as scorekeepers.
It is just a limitation of the program.
(In both iOS and Android)

It is a fine tuning that developers have not prioritized. Though with increased empasis on fan viewing experience, perhaps it will rise in Importance.

I would be re miss to not also mention EH on this thread. Related to the DH is the lack of EH, (and multiple EH) in both iOS and Android programs. for those who have leagues that bat more than 9, those players also show as blanks, and it has been requested to add EH for them. In scorecast, tablet displays, Scorecards and boxscores Related thread : viewtopic.php?f=4&t=12035. Semi related has been the request to add PH, or PR, to display if Defensive sub is not yet made for fan viewing experience.

Return to “FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions [Baseball]”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 13 guests