second opinion

We will try and answer Questions in this forum. If you are having any issues with iScore Baseball, this is probably the best place to start. You can also search historical posts here.
User avatar
oconnor.jb
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 12:04 pm
Location: Cumming, GA

second opinion

Post by oconnor.jb » Wed May 15, 2013 8:57 am

Ball is bunted, catcher fields it, throws to first. 1B fully extends and tries to keep foot on bag to get out. Ball hits the tip of the glove and continues far into right field. A jump may have enabled 1B to catch the ball, but would have surely given up the out.

My ruling: error goes to the thrower

opinions?
Forrest Howe
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:57 am

Re: second opinion

Post by Forrest Howe » Wed May 15, 2013 9:07 am

If runner ends up at 2nd or 3rd yes. If stays at 1st no error. Final decision is at the discretion of the scorekeeper.
User avatar
team mom
Posts: 878
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 4:47 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: second opinion

Post by team mom » Wed May 15, 2013 9:27 am

Would the batter have been out at first with a clean throw? If so, I would give E2 to reach base. E3 if runner subsequently reaches second due to mis-fielding by 1B.
Team Mom

Check out the new iscore documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
PetroGuy
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:43 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: second opinion

Post by PetroGuy » Wed May 15, 2013 9:46 am

I agree on the E2 for the initial play. I see why you would go with E3 for any subsequent bases. However, It almost seems like that would be giving an error for a mental mistake of not coming off the bag. Obviously, this is a judgment call, but since 1B is trying to make the play and it does hit the glove (i.e. it is close to a makeable play), I would tend to go with E2 for all bases in this case.
Check out the new iscore documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
User avatar
team mom
Posts: 878
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 4:47 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: second opinion

Post by team mom » Wed May 15, 2013 9:54 am

Of course if RF is properly backing up the throw there should be no additional bases on the play. That would also be a mental error.
Team Mom

Check out the new iscore documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
User avatar
oconnor.jb
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 12:04 pm
Location: Cumming, GA

Re: second opinion

Post by oconnor.jb » Wed May 15, 2013 10:10 am

Sorry, should have included all the info.
There was a runner on 2nd that scored, and the batter got all the way to 3rd while the ball was in right field.

I don't think a mental error can be charged to 1B for not jumping any more than a mental error could be assigned to the RF for not being in the right place to back up the throw. (TeamMom, you read my mind!)

To answer someone's question: the throw would have just beaten the runner if on target. If 1B had jumped to catch the ball, it may have been close.
Last edited by oconnor.jb on Wed May 15, 2013 11:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
team mom
Posts: 878
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 4:47 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: second opinion

Post by team mom » Wed May 15, 2013 10:27 am

Then I agree with PetroGuy - All advancements due to E2. (As long as all events are scored in a single sequence of events, catcher will only be assigned one error.)
Team Mom

Check out the new iscore documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
PetroGuy
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:43 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: second opinion

Post by PetroGuy » Sat May 18, 2013 1:22 pm

Yeah me!

Of course, my kid is a 1B so I have to take up for them. Team Mom, you're still in charge of taking up for catchers!
Check out the new iscore documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
clmazin
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 7:54 pm

Re: second opinion

Post by clmazin » Sun May 19, 2013 2:50 pm

My son's a catcher... and I still say that's an E2. No E3 there. Yes, you want your first baseman to make those plays, but you can't ding them when the throw is really off.
broccoli
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 7:36 am

Re: second opinion

Post by broccoli » Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:52 am

It sounds like if the 1B had made the catch, it would have been a pretty great catch. Not exactly "ordinary effort".
Post Reply