RBI assignment when 0 or 1 out. Man on 3rd scores on passed

We will try and answer Questions in this forum. If you are having any issues with iScore Baseball, this is probably the best place to start. You can also search historical posts here.
Post Reply
vefurey
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 11:47 am

RBI assignment when 0 or 1 out. Man on 3rd scores on passed

Post by vefurey » Mon Mar 18, 2013 2:06 pm

Per MLB rule book, batter is credited an RBI when, before two are out, an error is made on a play on which a runner from third base ordinarily would score. Ex. No outs, runner on 3rd scores on a passed ball. Then batter reaches base on safe hit. Does iScore record the RBI for the batter?
User avatar
mprusak
Posts: 1348
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 7:27 pm
Location: Montgomery, IL

Re: RBI assignment when 0 or 1 out. Man on 3rd scores on passed

Post by mprusak » Mon Mar 18, 2013 2:22 pm

Welcome to the board.

I don't believe this is a correct interpretation of the rule. If runner scores on passed ball, no RBI would be credited for a subsequent base hit.

The rule is saying that if the batter put the ball in play and an error was made, but that run would have scored regardless, then an RBI can be credited.

If I am misunderstanding something, I apologize.
Mark
iScore Baseball 4.533 on iOS8-iPad4 and iPhone 6-Plus

iScore Baseball User Manual:
http://iscoreleagues.com/manual/ <- Check it Out!
User avatar
Egghead_#8
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 6:51 am

Re: RBI assignment when 0 or 1 out. Man on 3rd scores on passed

Post by Egghead_#8 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:30 am

Mark is correct. No RBI should be given when run scores on passed ball / wild pitch and the batter on a subsequent pitch gets on base. RBI should only be scored if the plays are on the same pitch. You are combining plays when letting subsequent pitches count towards that scoring situation. The "play" in question is the pitch that was determined to be a wild pitch / passed ball, where the runner would not score ordinarily if the pitch was not "wild" or the catcher caught the ball as expected.
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 5473
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: RBI assignment when 0 or 1 out. Man on 3rd scores on passed

Post by OhioTex » Mon Apr 22, 2013 7:16 am

to try and explain why no RBI .. and how it logic checks with the original rule referenced.. Remember technically speaking, passed balls and wild pitches are not recorded as errors ("E").. they may be mistakes or misplays and can cost you a score and a game, but not formally Es. The rules are specific when using the term Errors. - it does not cover mental mistakes nor wild pitches or passed balls.
..........................................
iScore Baseball/Softball
* FAQ http://iscoresports.com//baseball/support.php
* Updated Manual http://iscoresports.com/baseball/manual.php?gd=1
* Stat Formulas http://data.iscorecentral.com/legend.ph ... internal=1
User avatar
grstatdoc
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:24 am
Location: Grand Rapids, Mich.

Re: RBI assignment when 0 or 1 out. Man on 3rd scores on pa

Post by grstatdoc » Fri Jan 23, 2015 3:39 pm

OhioTex wrote:to try and explain why no RBI .. and how it logic checks with the original rule referenced.. Remember technically speaking, passed balls and wild pitches are not recorded as errors ("E").. they may be mistakes or misplays and can cost you a score and a game, but not formally Es. The rules are specific when using the term Errors. - it does not cover mental mistakes nor wild pitches or passed balls.
MLB 10.12(f)
The official scorer shall not charge an error when a runner or runners advance as the result of a passed ball, a wild pitch or a balk.
Reason: Pitchers and catcher handle the ball much more than other fielders, and thus the misplays listed in 10.12(f) involved pitched balls (not to be confused with thrown balls) and pitching mechanics.

MLB 10.04 defines RBI as:
A run batted in is a statistic credited to a batter whose action at bat causes one or
more runs to score, as set forth in this Rule 10.04.
Wild pitches and passed balls do not involve action by a batter (waving R3 home after a pitched ball eludes the catcher doesn't count!)
And WPs, PBs, and balks are not listed in the events that do result in RBIs
10.04 (a) The official scorer shall credit the batter with a run batted in for every run that scores
(1) unaided by an error and as part of a play begun by the batter’s safe hit (including
the batter’s home run), sacrifice bunt, sacrifice fly, infield out or fielder’s
choice, unless Rule 10.04(b) applies;
(2) by reason of the batter becoming a runner with the bases full (because of a
base on balls, an award of first base for being touched by a pitched ball or for
interference or obstruction); or
(3) when, before two are out, an error is made on a play on which a runner from
third base ordinarily would score.
Strikeouts in which a WP or PB is involved are also excluded, as are GDPs (force or reverse-force) and the rare case when a fielder is charged with an error because the fielder muffs a throw at first base that would have completed a force double play. (10.04(b)(1) and (2))
Post Reply