Page 1 of 1

Holding penalty

Posted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 12:13 pm
by Thomsonpro
How is a holding penalty scored when the RB has a big run and is called back due to a hold? How should that be scored?

Re: Holding penalty

Posted: Mon Nov 04, 2013 10:24 am
by FTMSupport
You would select Run from the main scoring screen, enter where the RB was eventually tackled, tap Penalty, tap the penalty marker, select Holding and which player was charged with holding, drag the marker to where the penalty occurred, and drag the ball attached to the penalty marker to the point the ball will be placed.

Re: Holding penalty

Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 8:07 am
by ecamp02
I have a follow up to that original question. I use the app to score high school football and most of the holding penalties are spot fouls (10 yards from the flag). If the runner advances the ball 15 yards but the team still nets a gain of 5 after the holding penalty - I usually hit accept on the penalty and the runner gets credited for the yards to the flag. Now if the team loses yards because of the penalty, I have been selecting "nullify play" so that the penalty yards count but the runner does not lose yards personally. Am I using the "nullify play" option correctly or should I be using "accept" in these cases? This is my first year scoring, and these spot fouls are hard, I would appreciate any feedback.

Also when recording the penalty, after I select "holding" for example, is it possible to somehow drag the flag and ball together. I usually drag the ball and then go back and need to drag the flag so that it = 10 yards.

Thanks again for the help.

Re: Holding penalty

Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 8:37 pm
by FTMSupport
We have tested these situations in IScore, and they work correctly when using the "Accept" option according to College Football Scorekeepers guidelines (which generally match High School rules). According to Section 14 Article 2 AR 1 the runner gets the yardage when you use accept. Section 14 Article 3 AR 1 the runner is not charged with a rush when you use accept.

For now, you can move the marker to the correct spot before choosing the action and then the ball will be placed with the correct yardage after you choose the action. We do however, intend to provide a way to move the ball and marker together in the future.