little league baseball rule clarification
Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 9:55 am
hello all.....excellent software/app used for all of last season...love it.
Now a question which I cannot seem to find the answer too,I will try to be brief in the scenario.
runners on 2 and 3
passed ball
runner on 3 heads home
catcher tosses to pitcher
( in little league the runner must slide and avoid ...the pitcher was not in the way,or in position to tag the runner but the kid did not slide) not a big deal
had he slid to home this scenario would not of happened,and in this case even in little league I would not of argued him out at all ....he beat the throw easily without question
but the throw from the catcher actually hit the runner as he crossed the plate ,the ball deflected and then rolled towards the backstop and then on towards first base,scoring the runner who is now at 3
the pitcher for sure, would of caught the underhand toss...the runner would not of advanced from 3
the run scores.....but should the play of been called dead after hitting the scoring runner?
what should the ruling of been? should the second run score?
Now a question which I cannot seem to find the answer too,I will try to be brief in the scenario.
runners on 2 and 3
passed ball
runner on 3 heads home
catcher tosses to pitcher
( in little league the runner must slide and avoid ...the pitcher was not in the way,or in position to tag the runner but the kid did not slide) not a big deal
had he slid to home this scenario would not of happened,and in this case even in little league I would not of argued him out at all ....he beat the throw easily without question
but the throw from the catcher actually hit the runner as he crossed the plate ,the ball deflected and then rolled towards the backstop and then on towards first base,scoring the runner who is now at 3
the pitcher for sure, would of caught the underhand toss...the runner would not of advanced from 3
the run scores.....but should the play of been called dead after hitting the scoring runner?
what should the ruling of been? should the second run score?