On Deck batter picks up passed ball 4
Posted: Sun May 08, 2011 5:40 pm
Ball 4 wild pitch. Runner gets to first and it sent to second because ball 4 was a wild pitch that ends up in the on deck circle. Not thinking, the girl "on deck" picks it up and hands it to the catcher who is trying to get to the ball and throw to second. As soon the girl "on deck" picks up the ball, the umpire calls the ball dead and sends the batter/runner back to first.
2 pitches later, he decides he made a mistake and says the runner (still on first) should have been out on offensive interference and calls her out then.
Appealed, he then puts the girl back on first.
I thought the rules says that the on deck person is not called for interference if they are hit with the ball while in the circle. What if they pick it up? Should the batter/runner be out on offensive interference or just sent back to first since she got base on balls?
Can an umpire change a call after the next play (pitches) happens?
Thought I had seen it all...
2 pitches later, he decides he made a mistake and says the runner (still on first) should have been out on offensive interference and calls her out then.
Appealed, he then puts the girl back on first.
I thought the rules says that the on deck person is not called for interference if they are hit with the ball while in the circle. What if they pick it up? Should the batter/runner be out on offensive interference or just sent back to first since she got base on balls?
Can an umpire change a call after the next play (pitches) happens?
Thought I had seen it all...