Dropped 3rd strike

If you have any rules related questions, please ask in this forum. In general, enforcement of rules is up to the Umpire of the game and iScore does not specifically enforce them, but we want to make sure we score within them. Ask here, and experts can chime in.
Jmilisitz
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 5:40 pm

Dropped 3rd strike

Postby Jmilisitz » Sat Sep 16, 2017 5:45 pm

Ok...1 out man on 3rd base. Batter strikes out catcher drops 3rd strike then throws runner going out to first. While throwing to first the runner on 3rd scores. Next hitter strikes out to end the inning. Is it an earned run?

My guess would be it was a passed ball and no earned run even though the runner was out at first. The scoring shows the run as earned.
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 5082
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: Dropped 3rd strike

Postby OhioTex » Sat Sep 16, 2017 6:49 pm

iScore does a pretty good job calculating earned/unearned run, but not perfect.. on occasion you need to manually adjust .

If scorekeeper deems R3 advancement was by passed ball, not wild pitch or fielders choice then you can adjust earned runs manually
ixamnis
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 5:17 pm

Re: Dropped 3rd strike

Postby ixamnis » Sun Sep 17, 2017 3:26 am

If there was no R3 and it was a dropped third strike and the batter is thrown out at first there is no passed ball or wild pitch assigned. I am not sure there is even if the batter is safe. If R3 advanced to home just on the ball getting past the catcher you would have to assign a wild pitch or passed ball. But it was described in this play that R3 ran home on the throw to first essentially choosing to steal home. I think it was an earned run. My question is did the batter get an RBI?
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 5082
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: Dropped 3rd strike

Postby OhioTex » Sun Sep 17, 2017 7:59 am

Official MLB scoring is:

  • Batter out at first after a D3S. no Passed ball (or WP) is credited to catcher (or pitcher)
    * if a runner advances a base on the D3S, the scorekeeper decides if runner advanced because of BP (WP) or stolen base.
  • When R3 Scores on D3S, the batter does not get an RBI.

it has been mentioned before on forum , that Iscore is not perfectly accurate in its Crediting of PB and WP on d3S situations because of the buttons presented on D3S, .. reportedly on the list for future enhancement consideration .

Return to “Rules [Baseball / Softball]”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest