Umpire loses track of outs (answered)

If you have any rules related questions, please ask in this forum. In general, enforcement of rules is up to the Umpire of the game and iScore does not specifically enforce them, but we want to make sure we score within them. Ask here, and experts can chime in.
Post Reply
jwestland
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:11 pm

Umpire loses track of outs (answered)

Post by jwestland » Tue Apr 11, 2017 10:24 am

Had an interesting situation last week. During my son's rec league game, that I was scoring, the umpire (and the opposing team's scorer, too, apparently) lost track of the number of outs.

We were hitting, and had multiple runs, there was a pitching change, and several other complicating factors. One of our players struck out, and I said "that's three outs" (as verified by the app). The umpire says he has 2 outs, looks around, nobody else claims 3 outs, and our at bat continues.

Since the app correctly had 3 outs, it advanced to the next half inning. I had to scramble to find a way to get back to our at bat, with two outs. I did a quick game adjustment, which just advanced it to our next at bat inning, and after the fourth out, I manually ended the inning. So the score book ended up being off by one inning. Wondering if there was a more better way to handle the situation.
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 5374
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: Umpire loses track of outs

Post by OhioTex » Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:26 am

can't say i have had that one before. . I think you did a fabulous job. Seriously fabulous .

in fact, sitting here with time.. I can not think of a better way! . in the heat of the moment. my first reaction would have been to use "Misc - End Half Inning (combined with misc tie breaker to set runners and misc end half inning again, when the 4th out recorded.) But misc - adjust score is much better. unfortunately, both leave you with an extra frame on scorecard. and the program thinks you are an inning ahead, but no way around that i see. .

the other thing to worry about in that situation, is game ending prematurely at end of 9th (or what ever your league has for innings), when in fact you had another inning to go . you would avoid that by changing number of innings in options to extend..
..........................................
iScore Baseball/Softball
* FAQ http://iscoresports.com//baseball/support.php
* Updated Manual http://iscoresports.com/baseball/manual.php?gd=1
* Stat Formulas http://data.iscorecentral.com/legend.ph ... internal=1
jwestland
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 4:11 pm

Re: Umpire loses track of outs

Post by jwestland » Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:44 am

I'm just glad that we didn't have anybody on base at the time, otherwise the situation would have been much more complicated.

We are scheduled for six innings, but usually end up hitting either the time limit or mercy rule before that. But I leave the default of nine innings in the game manager anyway, and just end the game when the ump says "ballgame."

I didn't mind getting the extra out, except for the fact that my app couldn't handle it natively.
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 5374
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: Umpire loses track of outs

Post by OhioTex » Tue Apr 11, 2017 5:28 pm

Well if ever happens again, Misc Tie Breaker lets you add baserunners.

There is the proverbial 4th out in baseball rules on appeal plays, but don't think that is what they had in mind. :lol:
..........................................
iScore Baseball/Softball
* FAQ http://iscoresports.com//baseball/support.php
* Updated Manual http://iscoresports.com/baseball/manual.php?gd=1
* Stat Formulas http://data.iscorecentral.com/legend.ph ... internal=1
Post Reply