Ruling question (discusion)

If you have any rules related questions, please ask in this forum. In general, enforcement of rules is up to the Umpire of the game and iScore does not specifically enforce them, but we want to make sure we score within them. Ask here, and experts can chime in.
Post Reply
KevTN
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 3:50 pm
Location: Hixson, TN

Ruling question (discusion)

Post by KevTN » Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:19 pm

What is the ruling please...

Runner on 1&2 ball hit to SS sharply...runner called for interference but SS still throws to first base in time to get the batter...

Thank you. Only one out at the time.
KevTN
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 3:50 pm
Location: Hixson, TN

Ruling question

Post by KevTN » Sun Jul 17, 2016 1:29 pm

What is the ruling please...

Runner on 1&2 ball hit to SS sharply...runner called for interference but SS still throws to first base in time to get the batter...

Thank you. Only one out at the time.
ixamnis
Posts: 302
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 5:17 pm

Re: Ruling question

Post by ixamnis » Sun Jul 17, 2016 5:43 pm

I think once the runner is called out for interference the ball is dead, so if there were less than two outs you have runner from first advance to second and the batter is now on first. Is that what they called?
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 5374
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: Ruling question

Post by OhioTex » Sun Jul 17, 2016 8:46 pm

By rule. Dead ball When umpire calls offensive interference. Runner out. batter runner awarded first

Update: Rule Reference Added after initial response, to support above statement

NCAA Fastpitch Rules.
12.19.2 Interference by Runners
12.19.2.1 The runner may not interfere with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball. For example:
...
EFFECT—(12.19.2.1.1 to 12.19.2.1.4)—The ball is dead. The batter- runner is awarded first base unless she is the player guilty of interference.
..........................................
iScore Baseball/Softball
* FAQ http://iscoresports.com//baseball/support.php
* Updated Manual http://iscoresports.com/baseball/manual.php?gd=1
* Stat Formulas http://data.iscorecentral.com/legend.ph ... internal=1
KevTN
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 3:50 pm
Location: Hixson, TN

Re: Ruling question

Post by KevTN » Wed Jul 20, 2016 4:17 am

That's is what they called. OK just seemed odd that the batter did not get called out due to the play.

OK they were right....that's why I asked so I can understand better... Thank you!
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 5374
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: Ruling question

Post by OhioTex » Wed Jul 20, 2016 5:14 am

As a side note .. in general,

Offensive Interference = usually immediate dead ball

Defensive Obstruction = usually "delayed dead ball" (umpire extends his fist to side)
Umpire Sorts out after play stops to offensive managers advantage
..........................................
iScore Baseball/Softball
* FAQ http://iscoresports.com//baseball/support.php
* Updated Manual http://iscoresports.com/baseball/manual.php?gd=1
* Stat Formulas http://data.iscorecentral.com/legend.ph ... internal=1
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 5374
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: Ruling question

Post by OhioTex » Tue Aug 30, 2016 7:59 am

Kevin
(better late than never? sorry. Not sure how this never got responded to )
(update: 10/14 turns out topic was double posted, and answered independently. upon discovery, merged into one post)

When Offensive Interference called by ump PLAY is DEAD. (in most leagues, some could have as delayed dead ball) (defensive obstruction is often delayed dead ball, and get choice of outcome, but not offensive interference, ball dead at time it is called by ump, end of story . the subsequent throw 6-3, SS to first, never actually happened. Batter "awarded first" by rule when interference called. I assume the underlying logic why batter runner awarded base is b/c defense gets to trade a leading baserunner out for batter-runner who is less important.

( also notable Exception: if it was related to breaking up a double play.. then batter can be out, umpire judgement, and utley rule, but I did not infer that in your situation ) .

(also, note batter gets a hit. FYI Example last night cubs pirates game, batter credited with a hit when the ball hit the runner who was out)
(update some rule bodies may call for a fielders choice, )
From my friend nick at Umpire bible. http://umpirebible.com/rules/interference.htm

If a base runner impedes a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball, or who is making a throw in continuation of fielding a batted ball, you have interference Call the runner out. Award the batter first base (unless he is the one who interfered). Other runners may only advance on this play if forced by batter going to first.

ORB: 5.09(b)(3) (aka 7.08(b))
Last edited by OhioTex on Fri Oct 14, 2016 8:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
..........................................
iScore Baseball/Softball
* FAQ http://iscoresports.com//baseball/support.php
* Updated Manual http://iscoresports.com/baseball/manual.php?gd=1
* Stat Formulas http://data.iscorecentral.com/legend.ph ... internal=1
Post Reply