Page 1 of 1

Rule quedtion

Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2015 4:36 am
by KevTN
In a tourney runner on first foul tip caught for second strike runner was attempting to steal. Blue behind the plate told runner to return to bag. Blue in the field moved runner to second because the catcher caught the ball.

What should have been the ruling?
Thx

Re: Rule quedtion

Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2015 6:29 am
by PetroGuy
A foul tip is a ball that is touched by the bat and goes sharp directly towards the catcher's mitt and is legally caught. It is considered a strike and the ball is still live. So yes, a runner can steal. However, the "sharp and direct" part of the foul tip is a judgment call and is the plate umpire's call to make. The base umpire should not overrule the plate umpire but can consult on the proper rules interpretation if asked by the plate ump.

Re: Rule quedtion

Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2015 8:39 am
by KevTN
Thank you!