Error on Third Strike Not Caught (answered)

If you have any rules related questions, please ask in this forum. In general, enforcement of rules is up to the Umpire of the game and iScore does not specifically enforce them, but we want to make sure we score within them. Ask here, and experts can chime in.
cfm56dash7
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 5:59 pm

Error on Third Strike Not Caught (answered)

Postby cfm56dash7 » Fri Apr 28, 2017 9:42 am

I ran across this situation twice yesterday. One out, runner at first, and batter strikes out. Since first base is occupied with less than two outs, the third strike not caught rule does not apply. {6.05}

Pitch was inside and low but should have been caught with ordinary effort. Needless to say, the pitch was not caught. Batter breaks for first base and catcher scrambles to get the ball. R1 saunters from first towards second. Plate umpire is yelling, "Batter's Out!" Catcher gathers up the ball and rifles to first. Ump cries, "the batter is still out!" R1 makes second at a walk. When I first scored it, I entered Swinging strike, dropped third and then gave R1 a stolen base.

My inclination now is to change that to Swinging strike, strikeout swinging and recording the R1 advance to second as an E2 throwing. (Should have thrown to second v. first)

So, that's my reasoning for the way that I did it. What's the right way to do it?
cfm56dash7
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 29, 2010 5:59 pm

Re: Error on Third Strike Not Caught

Postby cfm56dash7 » Fri Apr 28, 2017 9:47 am

As an enhancement, would it be possible to only have the dropped third prompt show up when the baserunner and out situation reflect what the rule requires? That is to say, the dropped third prompt would not have been available in the above situation. It would only appear with first base vacant, or with two outs already on the board.
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 4981
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: Error on Third Strike Not Caught

Postby OhioTex » Fri Apr 28, 2017 9:57 am

Score what feels right for your age/level ..and having been there to see in person the play
(really, twice in one day.. maybee need to give an error to coaches? lol )

If you wanted to adhere to OBR rules, your first instincts to credit the stolen base vs the error would be correct.

Below are two rule citations that would support the stolen base over catcher error.
(FYI -in iscore, you can easily change stolen base to error or error to stolen base post game in PxP game editor )


From OBR Rule 9.12(a) . highlight emphasis added
9.12(a) (commentary) ...
The official scorer shall not score mental mistakes or misjudgments
as errors unless a specific rule prescribes otherwise.
A
fielder’s mental mistake that leads to a physical misplay—
such as throwing the ball into the stands or rolling the ball to
the pitcher’s mound, mistakenly believing there to be three
outs, and thereby allowing a runner or runners to advance—
shall not be considered a mental mistake for purposes of this
rule and the official scorer shall charge a fielder committing
such a mistake with an error. The official scorer shall not
charge an error if the pitcher fails to cover first base on a play,
thereby allowing a batter-runner to reach first base safely. The
official scorer shall not charge an error to a fielder who incorrectly
throws to the wrong base on a play
.



From OBR Rule 9.12 (d) highlight emphasis added

9.12(d) The official scorer shall not charge an error against:
(1) the catcher when
the catcher, after receiving the pitch,
makes a wild throw attempting to prevent a stolen base,
unless the wild throw permits the stealing runner to
advance one or more extra bases or permits any other
runner to advance one or more bases;
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 4981
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: Error on Third Strike Not Caught

Postby OhioTex » Fri Apr 28, 2017 10:09 am

posted the enhancement idea in its own thread. viewtopic.php?f=4&t=11801
PetroGuy
Posts: 517
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:43 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Error on Third Strike Not Caught (replied)

Postby PetroGuy » Fri Apr 28, 2017 3:54 pm

I agree with OhioTex on the scoring. Batter gets a K and R1 a stolen base. I would score it this way at any level of ball. It is still a mental error even if it hasn't been coached so no scoring error.
Check out the new iscore documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
Tacho47
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 11:36 am

Re: Error on Third Strike Not Caught (answered)

Postby Tacho47 » Thu May 11, 2017 1:02 am

If there was no intent to steal 2nd Base prior to the dropped strike (at the time of pitch), you should charge the catcher a "passed ball", the Batter still got his "K".
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 4981
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: Error on Third Strike Not Caught (answered)

Postby OhioTex » Thu May 11, 2017 4:54 am

Tacho47 has a good point, but not part of original question and not there to see ... but passed ball could be a better answer.

Tacho47 wrote:If there was no intent to steal 2nd Base prior to the dropped strike (at the time of pitch), you should charge the catcher a "passed ball", the Batter still got his "K".
PetroGuy
Posts: 517
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:43 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Error on Third Strike Not Caught (answered)

Postby PetroGuy » Fri May 12, 2017 9:37 am

Yes, but.....we can't really tell for sure. We have the description that R1 is 'sauntering' towards second. Maybe if the catcher had thrown to second instead of first, the runner would have been out. Thus it would still be a mental error on the throw to first. And keep in mind that intent to steal doesn't really matter for the scoring decision.
Check out the new iscore documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs

Return to “Rules [Baseball / Softball]”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest