Infield Double?!? (answered)

If you have any rules related questions, please ask in this forum. In general, enforcement of rules is up to the Umpire of the game and iScore does not specifically enforce them, but we want to make sure we score within them. Ask here, and experts can chime in.
User avatar
PPPadre
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 9:58 am

Infield Double?!? (answered)

Postby PPPadre » Thu Mar 16, 2017 4:10 pm

Unusual play happened in this evening's game, and I want to make sure I scored it correctly.

Batter hits a soft fly ball into "No Man's Land" between mound and third. Pitcher starts running full bore to try to catch it, hits the deck when called off by 3rd baseman. Pitcher's momentum carried him past the landing point of the ball, causing the 3rd baseman to have to dive over the pitcher if he is going to make the play. In diving, he misses the ball and it drops to the ground. 2nd baseman and shortstop both make a break for the loose ball on the left side of the infield. The runner, rounding first and pausing, sees that no one is covering second and kicks it back into gear, safely advancing without a play.

I scored it a(n infield!) double since the initial play was not an error and his advance was not due to a muffed catch or errant throw. Was this correct?

For proper reference, this was a high school game, so NFHS rules.
PetroGuy
Posts: 517
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 12:43 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Infield Double?!?

Postby PetroGuy » Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:36 pm

I would probably have scored this as a single and an advance to second via Fielder's Choice. I'm not sure of this, but it makes more sense because the initial hit would not have pulled the SS and 2nd baseman out of position. It was an attempt to retrieve the ball after the initial single which left 2nd base uncovered.
Check out the new iscore documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 4893
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: Infield Double?!?

Postby OhioTex » Sat Mar 18, 2017 5:51 am

Seeing live always most important.. but given description ..agree w petro guy.. sounds like an infield hit .. not a double.. using 'fielders choice' to account for a runner advancement in the 'grey area' is right ( not an error, hit, wild pitch , passed balls, etc)
ixamnis
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 5:17 pm

Re: Infield Double?!?

Postby ixamnis » Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:41 pm

Correct me if I'm wrong, but on this play if you record single for the batter when iScore then asks what happened to the batter and you advance him to second you don't have a "fielders choice" option there. You have to use "on the throw" even though there wasn't a throw. Am I remembering that right from my android version?

The other interesting thing to think about with this question, had the batter rounded first and kept on running I might be more inclined to give the batter a double because he didn't pause first to see the base was open. The mention of the pause in the initial description of the play tends to make me agree with OhioTex and PetroGuy.
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 4893
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: Infield Double?!?

Postby OhioTex » Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:57 pm

'Fielders Choice' in this context is just the generic nomenclature used in scoreing rules to advance a batter without hit, error, pb, wo, sb, award . In iscore, 'held up' would be the button i would use.
Olydaddy
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 7:25 am

Re: Infield Double?!?

Postby Olydaddy » Tue Mar 21, 2017 7:41 am

Every infield fly is catchable and should result in an out. In fact, that's the underlying rationale for the IFF rule. Close call, but If 5 called off the pitcher, it was catchable, and 5 made a mental error. Batter should've been out. Mark the batter/runner with E5, safe at 1B, and ditto for the trip to 2B. E5 also. But if you feel the pitcher made the error by being clumsy, use E1 for both.
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 4893
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: Infield Double?!?

Postby OhioTex » Tue Mar 21, 2017 9:35 am

Sorry, disagree .,

1) not rationale behind infield fly rule.. INF logic is about fielder not getting a DP advantage by 'letting' ball fall to create double play. Proof besides the commentary, why only in effect w less than 2 outs.


2) in MLB not every infield pop up is considered an out.. i went balistic couple years back when ball dropped in front of pitcher in workd series. He even 'arm waved' to clear area, then let ball fall. I debated this over multiple beers with an official scorer and he insists that was right 'hit' for mlb. As a coach, my 12u players make that play but not the million dollar arm.. go figure

* right or wrong the OBR for errors is ordinary effort for that level of play and various times throughout 'forgives' mental errors. Going to wrong base etc. as a coach, i call them mistakes. Regardless of what scorebook says . But scorer standards and guidelines and by design not the same as coach standards

Return to “Rules [Baseball / Softball]”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests