Mass Subs

If you have an idea for improving the product, please post it here and we will try and prioritize updates based on the most popular requests.
Post Reply
jdhhauser
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 9:43 pm

Mass Subs

Post by jdhhauser » Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:11 pm

Can you add a button on the subs screen that takes all the players out of the game at once?

This would be a helpful addition.
User avatar
FTMSupport
Site Admin
Posts: 13192
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: Mass Subs

Post by FTMSupport » Fri Feb 12, 2010 12:42 pm

You can actually do all the subs at one time... when you click the subs button, just click each "slot" for the team, and the player you want to put in that slot.

That being said, we have thought about adding an easier way to just "click the 5 players currently in the game" which will cut the number of clicks in half since you would not have to click the slot, then the player, then the slot, then the player... you would just click the 5 players.
jdhhauser
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: Mass Subs

Post by jdhhauser » Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:10 pm

Can you make it so the subs automatically appear in numerical order no matter what order you put them in?
User avatar
FTMSupport
Site Admin
Posts: 13192
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: Mass Subs

Post by FTMSupport » Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:52 pm

We actually intentionally make it so you can put them in any order you want... it is very convenient to have the "top players" or players you really want to track on the "outer most" buttons so it is easier to press them.

We might be able to add an "auto-sort" by jersey number as an optional setting in a future version for people that would like to do that.
Methlp
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:14 pm

Re: Mass Subs

Post by Methlp » Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:31 pm

On the iPad version, I like the subs screen, but would prefer not to have to toggle the existing players off, before selecting the ones currently on the court.

If I swap the whole first string for the second unit, that's 10 taps + 1 for done, and up to 10 more for the opposing team. This many touches slows down the data entry, especially for those coaches that quickly send in players and pull players out without checking in with the score table. I'd much rather see a mode that requires you to quickly select the players in the game NOW. The players previously on the court can be highlighted with a different color for reference.

On both iPhone/iPad, I'd like to be able to setup the "first string", "second string", "third string" before the game, possibly at the team management level, and then quickly use those predefined lists for substitutions. I can even see this setup done on the scoring screen, under the lineup controller. This would cut mass subs taps required to 2 taps, 1 selecting just the next team going in, then 1 tap for "done" (possible to eliminate this tap if selecting the team unit dismisses the dialog too).
User avatar
FTMSupport
Site Admin
Posts: 13192
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: Mass Subs

Post by FTMSupport » Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:48 pm

Thank you for the suggestions... we will add to our enhancement list.
Check out the new iScore Baseball documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
hoopscoaching
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:30 am

Re: Mass Subs

Post by hoopscoaching » Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:53 am

Hi

I would like to know if the "strings" idea mentioned above was implemented or is planned to be implemented.
It is a "must have" for youth leagues in which we need to deal with minimum rotations per player and we usually prepare most of the "strings = rotations" prior to the game start.
The obligation we face to change all players every rotation makes the usual process to cumbersome. The adoption of the strings concept would drastically reduce the nee of extra clicks and will allow more youth coaches to adopt iScore.

Thanks
User avatar
FTMSupport
Site Admin
Posts: 13192
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: Mass Subs

Post by FTMSupport » Thu Oct 18, 2012 8:31 am

Strings were not implemented, but substitutions were changed drastically from the time of this post. It is now just a taps to update the players on the court compared to what it was.
Check out the new iScore Baseball documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
hoopscoaching
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:30 am

Re: Mass Subs

Post by hoopscoaching » Mon Oct 22, 2012 2:57 pm

Thanks for your feedback.
It si hard to evaluate "how easy" from the web site.
I understand the app is not expensive, but easy substitutions and preferably mass subs are one of the main requirements to youth leagues with participation rules and large rosters.
Would be possible to explain a little bit more how things are "easier" now?
Could mass subs (per defined line ups) be a future enhancement?

Thanks
User avatar
FTMSupport
Site Admin
Posts: 13192
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: Mass Subs

Post by FTMSupport » Mon Oct 22, 2012 3:45 pm

Usually you would just tap the Clear button, then tap the players that you see on the court. You can also free substitute individual players at any time. In addition, it is no longer required that a player is in the lineup to score a play for them... so if you missed a substitution, you can still scored the play and sub the player in whenever you have time.

If there is enough demand for pre defined lineups, we may add it in the future, but there has been very little demand for it from our customers.
Check out the new iScore Baseball documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
Post Reply