Held or jump ball

If you have an idea for improving the product, please post it here and we will try and prioritize updates based on the most popular requests.
RDRebels
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:23 pm

Held or jump ball

Post by RDRebels » Sun Dec 16, 2012 12:30 pm

I don't see anyway to record held or jump balls
User avatar
FTMSupport
Site Admin
Posts: 13196
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: Held or jump ball

Post by FTMSupport » Sun Dec 16, 2012 5:41 pm

That is correct - there are no statistics on jump balls. If the tie up leads to a change of possession, it is a turnover, otherwise it is a non-play statistically speaking.
Check out the new iScore Baseball documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
RDRebels
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:23 pm

Re: Held or jump ball

Post by RDRebels » Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:02 pm

But in the flow of the game it sucks not having a button to push to do the transition and also change to possesion arrow.
User avatar
FTMSupport
Site Admin
Posts: 13196
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: Held or jump ball

Post by FTMSupport » Sun Dec 16, 2012 8:57 pm

The possession arrow can be tapped any time there is a tie up and it will change direction. That is what it is there for.
Check out the new iScore Baseball documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
RDRebels
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:23 pm

Re: Held or jump ball

Post by RDRebels » Sun Dec 16, 2012 10:06 pm

I know that. It is just not convenient. It would be much better to have a held ball button as an option that changed the possesion.
User avatar
FTMSupport
Site Admin
Posts: 13196
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: Held or jump ball

Post by FTMSupport » Mon Dec 17, 2012 8:36 am

Would it be more convenient if the label on the "Possession" button was changed to say "Held Up"? We can add an enhancement request to our list to allow you to label that button whatever you like if that helps.
Check out the new iScore Baseball documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
Mrudy05
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 5:42 am

Re: Held or jump ball

Post by Mrudy05 » Sat Jan 05, 2013 5:46 am

It would be nice to add a held ball or jump ball button to the turnover screen
User avatar
FTMSupport
Site Admin
Posts: 13196
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: Held or jump ball

Post by FTMSupport » Sat Jan 05, 2013 9:56 am

When a "held ball" situation leads to a turnover, the team that had the ball should be credited with a turnover, and the defense is credited with a Steal. Those are the options that should be selected when you are scoring in this scenario.
Check out the new iScore Baseball documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
stlineberger
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 3:28 pm

Re: Held or jump ball

Post by stlineberger » Mon Feb 04, 2013 5:28 pm

Tie ups should be tracked somehow. If you are on offense without the possession arrow, agreed that is a turnover and easy to record and track. If you do have the possession arrow, not a turnover but it hurts the team for the next tie up.

If you are on defense with the arrow, agreed it is a turnover and easy to record and track. Without the arrow though, good defense is not recorded in the stats.
User avatar
FTMSupport
Site Admin
Posts: 13196
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: Held or jump ball

Post by FTMSupport » Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:27 pm

The possession arrow is there. We are not clear what you are saying here. Any time there is a tie up, you can tap the possession indicator to change it. However, just because the possession arrow says one thing in iScore, it does not mean the refs will see the same thing. We have scored many games where the refs had something different than what he had for possession, and it is only their call that counts. So from our experience, it is better to just see how the refs score a tie up, and record the results accordingly.
Check out the new iScore Baseball documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
Post Reply