Search found 34 matches

by grstatdoc
Sun Jun 09, 2019 6:18 pm
Forum: FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions [Baseball]
Topic: TIP: How to "Import CSV File" from "Prior Season Stats" - FAQ
Replies: 15
Views: 8049

Re: TIP: How to "Import CSV File" from "Prior Season Stats" - FAQ

So, if I read this correctly, the first three columns are a good way to create a team roster (I'm looking to use iScore when I'm not on official scoring duty, and the prospect of entering players one at a time was the impediment)...
by grstatdoc
Fri Feb 27, 2015 9:41 am
Forum: FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions [Baseball]
Topic: Appeal on leaving base early on caught fly ball
Replies: 11
Views: 4019

Re: Appeal on leaving base early on caught fly ball

NCAA SB rules do allow for a dead ball appeal (7.1.2.2), which is a verbal appeal. Scoring the out credited on such appeal is governed by the following: 14.12.3 In all other appeals, credit the fielder closest to the misplay with the putout. (Incorrect batter and incorrect lineup card, 14.12.1 and 1...
by grstatdoc
Tue Jan 27, 2015 9:03 am
Forum: FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions [Baseball]
Topic: A thought about the dropped foul fly
Replies: 0
Views: 15760

A thought about the dropped foul fly

In my reading various posts about the dropped foul fly, some have mentioned that this would be "conditional" scoring, and others had referenced a scoring rule change that took the "conditional" aspect out of it. I was wondering if it had existed (prior to recodification in 1950), so I thought it goo...
by grstatdoc
Sun Jan 25, 2015 6:47 pm
Forum: Rules [Baseball / Softball]
Topic: Scoring question
Replies: 5
Views: 5587

Re: Scoring question

One significant reason for not scoring a hit when a runner is forced out is to minimize judgment calls on this play. In other words, if as a result of a ball batted into play, a runner is put out on a force play, a base hit is not to be scored. The scorer need not worry about making exceptions (even...
by grstatdoc
Sat Jan 24, 2015 7:21 pm
Forum: FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions [Baseball]
Topic: SAC and FC on the same play?
Replies: 3
Views: 1989

Re: SAC and FC on the same play?

Yes, it is possible for a SAC and FC to be scored on the same play. (a FC is scored when the defense tries to put out a runner other than the batter. Most often an out is gained, but is not a requirement) Looking at a case: (a) R1, 0 out. B#2 bunts, pitcher attempts to retire R1 at second, but R1 be...
by grstatdoc
Sat Jan 24, 2015 5:57 pm
Forum: FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions [Baseball]
Topic: Rundown double play
Replies: 6
Views: 2906

Re: Rundown double play

unusual double plays are hard to get 'perfectly' correct at times in terms of PO and assists. and GDP batter statistic. routine double pays are best done with 'quick plays' (swipe out on scoring screen) I tied a couple ways an could not get it all square so i think manually editing is the best solv...
by grstatdoc
Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:48 pm
Forum: FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions [Baseball]
Topic: How much detail
Replies: 2
Views: 1606

Re: How much detail

"With Charles batting, Abel caught stealing third base catcher Edward to third baseman Frank. Baker advances to third on throwing error by Frank". Sometimes, MiLB (and its parent, MLB Advanced Media) omits intermediate advances during a play (in this case the advance to second by Baker by "on the th...
by grstatdoc
Sat Jan 24, 2015 3:29 pm
Forum: FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions [Baseball]
Topic: Earned or unearned?
Replies: 5
Views: 2288

Re: Earned or unearned?

OK folks: scoring opinions request... Tie game, bottom 9. Lead off man gets on via base hit to right. Pitcher relieved. New pitcher throws away pickoff attempt at first. Runner takes second on the error. Runner then takes third on passed ball. Second batter singles to left. Runner scores. Game over...
by grstatdoc
Fri Jan 23, 2015 3:39 pm
Forum: FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions [Baseball]
Topic: RBI assignment when 0 or 1 out. Man on 3rd scores on passed
Replies: 4
Views: 2714

Re: RBI assignment when 0 or 1 out. Man on 3rd scores on pa

to try and explain why no RBI .. and how it logic checks with the original rule referenced.. Remember technically speaking, passed balls and wild pitches are not recorded as errors ("E").. they may be mistakes or misplays and can cost you a score and a game, but not formally Es. The rules are speci...
by grstatdoc
Fri Jan 23, 2015 3:14 pm
Forum: FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions [Baseball]
Topic: Double play on a sacrifice bunt.
Replies: 17
Views: 5864

Re: Double play on a sacrifice bunt.

Agree with FTM. Double play and no sac bunt. 10.08 SACRIFICES The official scorer shall: (c) Not score a sacrifice bunt when any runner is put out attempting to advance one base on a bunt, in which case the official scorer shall charge the batter with a time at bat; and Had R1 not reached second an...